Football

UEFA to hold talks with FIFA following Alvarez’s controversial Madrid derby penalty

UEFA to have a meeting with FIFA

UEFA has provided a video proof that Julian Alvarez kicked the ball twice with his penalty kick for Atletico during their Champions League shootout loss to Real Madrid.

Alvarez slipped and touched the ball twice, according to VAR, which led to the controversial decision to disallow his penalty. Atletico lost the penalty shootout 4-2 as a result of the ruling, and Real Madrid advanced to play Arsenal in the quarterfinals.

Atletico manager Diego Simeone insisted “the ball doesn’t move”, but UEFA have released video footage that shows Alvarez first moved the ball with his standing left foot before striking it with his right.

A UEFA statement read: “Atletico de Madrid enquired with UEFA over the incident, which led to the disallowance of the kick from the penalty mark taken by Julián Alvarez at the end of yesterday’s UEFA Champions League match against Real Madrid

“Although minimal, the player made contact with the ball using his standing foot before kicking it, as shown in the attached video clip. Under the current rule (Laws of the Game, Law 14.1), the VAR had to call the referee signalling that the goal should be disallowed.” Video is on the official UEFA PAGE

UEFA also confirmed they will hold talks with FIFA and IFAB over the double-touch penalty rule following the last night saga.

They said: “UEFA will enter discussions with FIFA and IFAB to determine whether the rule should be reviewed in cases where a double touch is clearly unintentional.”

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button